Deferred Disposition for Traffic Offenses
If you are charged with a traffic offense, you may be eligible to ask the judge to take a driving safety course to dismiss the charge. The
request must be made on or before the appearance date on your citation, either in person or in writing. If you were operating a motorcycle and
request to take a driving safety course, you must take a motorcycle operator's training course.
At the time of the request, you must do the following:
Present proof of financial responsibility (liability insurance) valid on the day of your request.
Present your Texas driver’s license valid the day of your request.
Pay costs of $99.10 for regular zone offenses or $124.10 for offenses occurring within a school zone. In addition a $10 administrative fee is
required and a $10 fee will be needed to send to the state requesting your records which will go to the City of Yoakum. You will also have to
pay for the price of the course.
Plead guilty or nolo contendere by filling out the Drivers Safety Course Request Form.
The case will be postponed for 90 days to allow you time to complete the course and deliver the certificate to the Yoakum Police Department or
Yoakum Municipal Court.
You must attend a driving safety course that has been approved by the Texas Education Agency or a motorcycle operator’s course approved
by the Department of Public Safety.
You are eligible to request this course if you:
Have not requested and taken a driving safety course for a traffic offense within the last 12 months (The court will go by the date recorded on
your driving record).
Are not currently taking the course for another traffic violation.
Have not committed the offense of speeding 25 mph over the speed limit.
Are not a Commercial Driver’s License Holder.
Have not committed one of the following:
Failure to Give Information at Accident Scene.
Leaving the Scene of Accident.
Fleeing or attempting to Elude Police Officer.
Passing a School Bus.
Any violation while operating a commercial motor vehicle.
Any offense committed in a construction maintenance zone when workers are
Common Problems when taking driving safety course to dismiss charges:
Failure to complete the course within the time limit.
Failure to obtain a certified copy of your driving record.
Sending someone else to take care of these items for you.
Lost documents in the mail.
Failure to call the Clerk’s office and confirm disposition of your case.
Waiting until the last week to plan completion and there is not enough time to complete required tasks.
If you do not take the course in the time required and or fail to present the court with a certificate of completion, the court will notify you to
return to court and explain why you failed to show proof of completion. Your failure to be present at that hearing will result in the issuance of
a warrant for your arrest, and an additional administrative fee and the original fine and court cost will be required and the original traffic
violation will go on your record.
|Other Helpful Links
pertaining to the Yoakum
|City of Yoakum
900 Irvine St.
PO Box 738
Yoakum, TX 77995
Phone #: (361) 293-6321
Fax #: (361) 293-5589
|In order to view the files above
you must download